Institutional Authority

The Province of British Columbia through the authority of the Ministry of Advanced Education has vested joint stewardship of the university in the Board of Governors and the Faculty Senate, a bicameral governance structure. The leadership and administration of the university are mandated to the Chancellor and the President & Vice Chancellor. The management of the university is delegated to the executive officers, the Provost & Vice President Academic and the Vice President Finance & Administration, along with the Chief Advancement Officer, the Executive Director External Relations, and the University Secretary. The Chief Advancement Officer is also responsible for the Director of Development.

The Provost & Vice President Academic is responsible for the following offices: the Associate Vice President Academic, the Deans of the Faculties, the Associate Vice President Strategic Enrolment Management, the Associate Vice President Students, Associate Vice President Research, and the University Librarian. The Deans of the Faculty include the following Faculties and Schools: Academic and Career Advancement, Business, Community and Health Studies, Design, Arts, Science and Horticulture, and Trades and Technology.

The Vice President Finance & Administration is responsible for the following offices: Associate Vice President Human Resource Services, the Executive Director Information & Education Technology, the Executive Director Facilities, the Executive Director Finance, the Director Institutional Analysis & Planning, and the Director of Supply & Business Services.