Skip to main content

Academic Schedule

NOTE: Some vocational and trades programs may start or end on dates that do not coincide with the semester-based dates below. Please contact the appropriate department for more information.

KPU Holidays/Closures

Labour Day Mon Sep 4, 2017 Good Friday Fri Mar 30, 2018
Thanksgiving Mon Oct 9, 2017 Easter Sunday (in lieu) Mon Apr 2, 2018
Remembrance Day (statutory) Sat Nov 11, 2017 Victoria Day Mon May 21, 2018
Remembrance Day (in lieu) Mon Nov 13, 2017 Canada Day (statutory) Mon Jul 2, 2018
KPU Christmas closure Dec 25, 2017 - Jan 1, 2018 BC Day Mon Aug 6, 2018
Family Day Mon Feb 12, 2018    

Semester Duration

Fall 2017 September 5 - December 20, 2017                
Spring 2018 January 3 - April 25, 2018
Summer 2018 May 7 - August 22, 2018

Full Semester Dates

Semester Fall Spring Summer
First day of classes Tue Sep 5, 2017 Wed Jan 3, 2018 Mon May 7, 2018
Reading break   Mon Feb 12 - Sat Feb 17, 2018  
Last day to withdraw Thu Nov 2, 2017 Thu Mar 8, 2018 Thu Jul 5, 2018
Last day of classes Mon Dec 4, 2017 Mon Apr 9, 2018 Fri Aug 3, 2018
Exam period Wed Dec 6 - Thu Dec 14, 2017 Wed Apr 11 - Thu Apr 19, 2018 Wed Aug 8 - Thu Aug 16, 2018
Grade submission deadline Wed Dec 20, 2017 Thu Apr 25, 2018 Wed Aug 22, 2018

Intersession Dates (Condensed Courses)

SESSION ONE Fall Spring Summer
First day of classes Tue Sep 5, 2017 Wed Jan 3, 2018 Mon May 7, 2018
Last day to withdraw Mon Oct 2, 2017 Tue Jan 30, 2018 Mon Jun 4, 2018
Last day to withdraw
(ELS only)
Wed Oct 4, 2017 Thu Feb 1, 2018 Thu Jun 7, 2018
Last day of classes Mon Oct 16, 2017 Tue Feb 20, 2018 Mon Jun 18, 2018
Last day of classes
(ELS only)
Fri, Oct 20, 2017 Fri, Feb 23, 2018 Fri, Jun 22, 2018
Exam period Wed Oct 18 - Fri Oct 20, 2017 Thu Feb 22 - Sat Feb 24, 2018 Wed Jun 20 - Fri Jun 22, 2018
Exam Period
(ELS only)
Mon, Oct 23 -
Tue, Oct 24, 2017
Mon, Feb 26 -
Tue, Feb 27, 2018
Mon, Jun 25 -
Tue, Jun 26, 2018
SESSION TWO Fall Spring Summer
First day of classes Mon Oct 30, 2017 Mon Mar 5, 2018 Tues Jul 3, 2018
Last day to withdraw Mon Nov 27, 2017 Tue Apr 3, 2018 Mon Jul 30, 2018
Last day to withdraw
(ELS only)
Wed Nov 30, 2017 Thu Apr 5, 2018 Thu Aug 2, 2018
Last day of classes Mon Dec 11, 2017 Mon Apr 16, 2018 Mon Aug 13, 2018
Last day of classes
(ELS only)
Fri, Dec 15, 2017 Fri, Apr 20, 2018 Fri, Aug 17, 2018
Exam period Wed Dec 13 - Fri Dec 15, 2017 Wed Apr 18 - Fri Apr 20, 2018 Wed Aug 15 - Fri Aug 17, 2018
Exam Period
(ELS only)
Mon, Dec 18 -
Tue, Dec 19, 2017
Mon, Apr 23 -
Tue, Apr 24, 2018
Mon, Aug 20-
Tue, Aug 21, 2018

Convocation Dates

Fall Ceremonies Oct 4 - 6, 2017
Spring Ceremonies May 29 - Jun 1, 2018

For more information about convocation, see kpu.ca/convocation.

Last Updated: 2-Sep-2017

This online version of the Kwantlen Polytechnic University Calendar is the official version of the University Calendar. Although every effort is made to ensure accuracy at the time of publication, KPU reserves the right to make any corrections in the contents and provisions of this calendar without notice. In addition, the University reserves the right to cancel, add, or revise contents or change fees at any time without notice. To report errors or omissions, or send comments or suggestions, please email Calendar.Editor@kpu.ca