Skip to main content

Faculty | Biology

Biology Department Chair(s):

 

Monica De Boer - B.Sc. (Waterloo), Ph.D. (UBC)
Department Co-Chair and Biology Instructor

     Office: 3335, Richmond Campus and Arbutus 3670, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2539 (Richmond) and 604.599.4009 (Surrey)
     E-mail:; monica.deboer@kpu.ca

Sherry Wilson- B.Sc. (Alberta), M.Sc. (Calgary), Ph.D. (Calgary), ND (New Westminster)
Department Co-Chair and Biology Instructor

     Office:;Fir 3427, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2482
     E-mail: sherry.wilson@kpu.ca

 

Biology Department Members:

 

Roger Abrahamsen- B.Sc. (SFU), PDP Teaching Cert. (SFU)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: Fir 3429, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2301
     E-mail: roger.abrahamsen@kpu.ca

Paul Adams - B.Sc. (UBC), Ph.D. (UBC)
Biology/Health Science Instructor

     Office: Fir 339, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2418
     Email: paul.adams@kpu.ca

Robert (B.J.) Allan- B.Sc. (Manitoba), M.Sc. (SFU)
Biology Lab Technician

     Office: 3500, Richmond Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2617
     E-mail: robert.allan@kpu.ca

Neilab Amiri - B.Sc.(SFU), M.Sc. (SFU)
Biology Lab Technician

     Office: Spruce 116, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2310
     E-mail: neilab.amiri@kpu.ca

Navjot Barney - M.Sc. (GNDU, India), M.Phil (GNDU, India), Provincial Instructors Diploma (VCC), Biologist in Training (ASPB and COAB)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: Fir 106, Surrey Campus, and 1367, Langley Campus
     Phone:604.599.2213 (Surrey) and 604.599.3406 (Langley)
     E-mail:navjot.barney@kpu.ca

Lee Beavington;- B.Sc. (UBC), Doctoral Candidate in Education (SFU)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: Fir 3429, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2322
     E-mail: lee.beavington@kpu.ca

     Website: http://leebeavington.com/

Melissa Bodner - B.Sc. Honours (Lewis and Clark College), M.Sc. (UBC)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 3415, Richmond Campus
     Phone:604.599.2562
     E-mail: melissa.bodner@kpu.ca

Gurneet Bola Shah - B.Sc. (UBC), Diploma Biotechnology (BCIT)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: Fir 106, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2213
     E-mail: gurneet.bolashah@kpu.ca

James Callander - B.Sc. (SFU), Diploma of Media (Capilano University)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 1367, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.3321
     E-mail: james.callander@kpu.ca

Laurence David- B.Sc. (CEU), M.Sc Environmental Toxicology (SFU), Ph.D (UBC)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 3415, Richmond Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2562 (Richmond)
     E-mail: laurence.david@kpu.ca

Ann Marie Davison- B.Sc.Hons (SFU), Ph.D. (UBC)
Biology Instructor

     Office: 3435, Richmond Campus, and Fir D1379, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2655 (R) and 604.599.3115 (S)
     E-mail: annmarie.davison@kpu.ca

Karen Davison - B.A.Sc (Guelph), Dietetic Internship (UBC), M.Sc. (UNBC), Ph.D. (Calgary)
Health Science Instructor

     Office: Fir 339, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2418
     Email: karen.davison@kpu.ca

Leah DeBella - B.A. (Sonoma State University), M.Sc. (UBC), Ph.D (University of California, Davis)
Biology Instructor

     Office: 3345, Richmond Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2550
     E-mail: leah.debella@kpu.ca

Greg Harris - B.Sc. (U.Sydney, Aust.), Dip.Ed. (WIE, Aust.), M.Sc. (U.Sydney, Aust.)
Biology Instructor

     Office: 1355, Langley Campus, and A3670,Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2385 (Langley) and 604.599.2481 (Surrey)
     E-Mail: greg.harris@kpu.ca

Jane Hobson - B.Sc. (St. Marys College), M.Sc. (New Hampshire), Ph.D. (Vanderbilt)
Health Science DegreeCoordinator
Biology/Health Science Instructor

     Office: 3325, Richmond Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2661
     E-mail: jane.hobson@kpu.ca

Brenda Hookham- B.Sc. (UVIC), M.Sc. (UVIC), PDP (UVIC)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: Fir 106, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2213
     E-mail:brenda.hookham@kpu.ca

Christina Iggulden - Ass.Sc. (KPU), B.Sc. Honours (SFU)
Biology Lab Technician

     Office: Fir 3426, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2214
     E-mail: christina.iggulden@kpu.ca

Nick Inglis - B.Sc. Hons(SFU), Ph.D. (SFU)
Liaison for High School Students/Instructors
Biology Instructor

     Office: 1355,Langley Campus
     Phone: 604.599.3448
     E-mail: nick.inglis@kpu.ca

Amy Jeon- B.Sc. Hons(Queens), M.Sc. (Queens), Ph.D. (Toronto)
Biology Instructor

     Office: Fir 347
     Phone: 604.599.2198
     E-mail: amy.jeon@kpu.ca

Shazina Khan -B.Sc. (SFU), M.Sc. (SFU)
Biology Lab Instructor

     (On Leave)

     Office: 1367, Langley Campus
     Phone:604.599.3321
     E-mail: shazina.khan@kpu.ca

Carson Keever- B.Sc. (University of California, Davis), Ph.D. (SFU)
Biology Instructor

     Office: Fir 344, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2204
     E-mail: carson.keever@kpu.ca

Brian Kuchinka- B.Sc.(UBC), M.Sc. (SFU), Clinical Laboratory Specialist in Molecular Biology (CLSpMB)
Biology Lab Technician

     Office: 3510, Richmond Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2711
     E-mail: brian.kuchinka@kpu.ca

Dawne MacLeod- B.Sc. Honours (Cape Breton)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: Fir 3429, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.3310
     E-mail: dawne.macleod@kpu.ca

Megan Marcotte - B.Sc. Honours (Toronto), M.Sc. (Cal State, Long Beach), Ph.D. (Auckland)
Biology Instructor

     Office: Richmond 3315 and Arbutus 3670, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2660
     Email: megan.marcotte@kpu.ca

Michaela Martin - B.Sc. (St. Francis Xavier), B.Sc. Natural Resources Conservation (UBC), M.Sc. (SFU)
Biology Lab Instructor/Technician

     Office: 1326, Langley Campus
     Phone: 604.599.3417
     E-mail: michaela.martin@kpu.ca

Layne Myhre- B.Sc. (Sask.), M.Sc. (Sask.), Ph.D(Alberta)
Biology/Health Sciences Instructor

     Office: Fir 339, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2418
     Email: layne.myhre@kpu.ca

Dua'a Riyal - B.Sc. Honours (SFU), M.Sc. (SFU)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 1367, Langley Campus
     Phone: 604.599.3321
     E-mail: duaa.riyal@kpu.ca

Mathias Schuetz- B.Sc. (SFU), Ph.D. (SFU)
Biology Instructor

     Office: Fir 347
     Phone: 604.599.2198
     E-mail: mathias.schuetz@kpu.ca

Andrea Sussmann - B.Sc. (UBC), Ph.D. (UBC)
Biology Instructor

     Office: Fir 344, Surrey Campus
     Phone:604.599.2204
     E-mail: andrea.sussmann@kpu.ca

     Website: http://andreasussmann.weebly.com

Christine Takhar - Ass.Sc. (KPU), B.Sc.(SFU), Dip. in Biotechnology (BCIT), M.Sc.Ed. (SFU)
Biology Lab Technician

     Office: Spruce 116, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2310
     E-mail: christine.takhar@kpu.ca

Korri Thorlacius- B.Sc. (UVIC)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 3400, Richmond Campus and Fir 106, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2599 (Richmond) and 604.599.2213 (Surrey Campus)
     E-mail: korri.thorlacius@kpu.ca

Douglas Torrance- B.Sc (University of Alberta), M.Sc. (University of Calgary)
Biology Instructor

     Office: 1355, Langley Campus
     Phone: 604.599.3448
     E-mail: douglas.torrance@kpu.ca

Trina Whitsitt- B.Sc., Honours Co-op (Dalhousie)
Biology Lab Supervisor

     Office: Fir 3425, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2459 (Surrey)
     E-mail: trina.whitsitt@kpu.ca

Lilian Wong- B.Sc. (SFU), M.Sc. Environmental Toxicology (SFU)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 3400, Richmond Campus and Fir 106, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2599 (Richmond) and 604.599.2213 (Surrey)
     E-mail: lilian.wong@kpu.ca

 

Biology Non-Regularized and Auxiliary Faculty Members:

 

Michelle Franklin- B.Sc. (SFU), Ph.D. (SFU)
Biology Instructor (Non-Regularized)

     Office: Institute of Sustainable Horticulture (ISH), Langley Campus and Arbutus 3670 , Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.3273
     Email: michelle.franklin@kpu.ca

Shannon Guichon- B.Sc. (TWU), M.Sc. (UBC), Ph.D(UBC)
Biology Instructor (Non-Regularized)

     Office: Arbutus 3670 , Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2100
     Email: shannon.guichon@kpu.ca

Jeff Jiang - B.Sc.(UBC)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 3415, Richmond Campus and Fir 106, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2562 (Richmond Campus) and 604.599.2213 (Surrey)
     E-mail:jeff.jiang@kpu.ca

Kaylee Magee- B.Sc. (SFU), Ph.D. (SFU)
Biology Instructor (Non-Regularized)

     Office: 2900, Richmond Campus and Arbutus 3670 , Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2100
     Email: kaylee.magee@kpu.ca

David Robinson - B.Sc.(MUN), M.Sc. (Calgary)
Biology Lab Technician

     Office: Fir 3426, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2214
     E-mail: david.robinson4@kpu.ca

Nicole Tunbridge- B.Sc. (UBC), M.Sc. (SFU)
Biology Instructor (Non-Regularized)

     Office: 2900, Richmond Campus and Arbutus 3670, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2100
     Email: nicole.tunbridge@kpu.ca

Cayley Velazquez- B.Sc. (Univeristy of New Mexico), M.Sc. (St Josephs University), Ph.D. (University of Texas)
Health Sciences Instructor (Non-Regularized)

     Office: 2105, Langley Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2100
     Email: cayley.velazquez@kpu.ca

Michelle Wang - B.Sc.(UBC), M.Sc. (UBC)
Biology Lab Instructor

     Office: 3415, Richmond Campus and Fir 106, Surrey Campus
     Phone: 604.599.2562 (Richmond) or 604.599. 2213 (Surrey Campus)
     E-mail: michelle.wang@kpu.ca