Skip to main content

Dean's Message

Welcome to the Faculty of Science and Horticulture

The Faculty of Science and Horticulture offers a unique mix of basic and applied undergraduate programs representing the true polytechnic mission of Kwantlen Polytechnic University. We've combined theory with an applied learning experience so you might analyze and explore the world on a level most people never see. Our faculty and staff are dedicated to student learning and passionate about their chosen fields. Our classes are less than one tenth the size of first year math, science and engineering classes commonly found at the larger, research-oriented universities. This allows students an excellent opportunity for one-on-one and small group interaction with instructors and fellow students.

We are proud to have several new degree programs including a B.Sc. in Biology and a B.Sc. in Health Sciences (a pre-professional program for students having an interest in pursuing further training in the health care profession). Our B.Sc. in Applications in Mathematics allows students to choose from focus streams in Biomathematics, Education or Computational Mathematics and the B.Sc. in Physics for Modern Technology provides students with a one-of-a-kind program designed with the needs of local industry in mind, and will include a work placement component. For those interested in the science, business and practical aspects of the brewing industry, try our Diploma in Brewing and Brewery Operations with hands on experience in our new 4000 square foot brewing instructional laboratory.

Interested in the environment and sustainability and want a hands-on applied program? We have two year diplomas that feed directly into our Bachelor of Horticulture in Plant Health or Urban Ecosystems degree programs. We also offer a two year Diploma in Environmental Protection Technology and our highly innovative Bachelor of Applied Science in Sustainable Agriculture.

Undergraduate student research opportunities at home or abroad are available in many of our programs. Our close relationship with the two highly recognized research groups, the Institute for Sustainable Horticulture and the Institute for Sustainable Food Systems, provides students the opportunity to work side-by-side with top researchers on projects that will benefit people in Canada and around the world.

Find your future at the Faculty of Science and Horticulture at KPU! We are committed to being a student-centered university offering innovative and interdisciplinary programs to guide you on your path to your academic goals.

Elizabeth (Betty) Worobec, Ph.D.
Dean, Faculty of Science and Horticulture

For general inquiries, please email: science@kpu.ca

Elizabeth (Betty) Worobec, Ph.D.
Dean, Faculty of Science and Horticulture
Phone: 604.599.2244
Fax: 604.599.2435
Email: elizabeth.worobec@kpu.ca

Joel Murray, B.A., M.A.
Associate Dean, Faculty of Science and Horticulture
Phone: 604.599.2107
Fax: 604.599.2435
E-Mail: joel.murray@kpu.ca

Lana Mihell, B.A.
Divisional Business Manager
Phone: 604.599.3260
Fax: 604.599-3330
Email: lana.mihell@kpu.ca

Liz Milliken
Operations Manager
Phone: 604.599.2245
Fax: 604.599.2435
Email: liz.milliken@kpu.ca

Barbara Maloney
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 604.599.2014
Fax: 604.599.2435
Email: barbara.maloney@kpu.ca

Michelle Molnar, B.Sc.
Dean's Assistant
Phone:  604.599.2357
Fax:  604.599.2435
Email:  michelle.molnar@kpu.ca

Triona King, B.Jour.
Communications and Event Specialist
Phone:  604.599.2048
Fax:  604.599.2435
Email:  triona.king@kpu.ca

Karen Vance, B.Sc., M.A.
Degree Advisor
Phone:  604.599.2973
Fax:  604.599.2435
Email:  karen.vance@kpu.ca 

Other Contacts:

School of Horticulture

Nancy Train
Administrative Assistant
Phone:  604.599.3254
Voice Mail:  3254
Email:  nancy.train@kpu.ca