Skip to main content

Roles and Responsibilities

The University Act, 2008, provides for establishment of special purpose teaching universities with bicameral governance.  The academic branch is known as Senate and has powers and duties including:

    - setting criteria for awarding certificates, diplomas and degrees, including honorary degrees;
    - setting curriculum content for programs;
    - setting qualifications for admission;    
    - setting criteria for academic standing, academic standards and the grading system;
    - setting policies and procedures for appeals by students on academic matters and establishing a final appeal tribunal for these appeals.

Additionally, Senate has the mandate to advise the Board of Governors on matters including:

    - educational goals, objectives, strategies and priorities of the University;
    - establishment, revision or discontinuance of courses and programs;
    - priorities for implementation of new programs;
    - establishment or discontinuance of Faculties;
    - evaluation of programs and educational services;
    - library and resource centres;
    - setting of the academic schedule;
    - qualifications for faculty members.

As the senior governance body composed primarily of the academic staff of the University, Senate has the responsibility to conduct its business in collegial, open forums.