Committee Overview: Arts Standing Committee on Curriculum


The Arts Standing Committee on Curriculum (ASCC) is a standing committee of Arts Faculty Council, with a mandate set out in the Arts Bylaws. ASCC exercises the delegated of AFC to receive, review, and approve all course curriculum within Arts, and to recommend curriculum to Senate and its standing committees for approval. ASCC’s work covers everything from course outline revisions and prerequisite changes to new course and degree program proposals. The committee is faculty-led, with representation from all Arts departments and program areas.


  • The Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson of AFC
  • The Dean or an Associate Dean of the Faculty
  • One representative from each department in the Faculty
  • One representative from interdisciplinary and / or non-aligned programs
  • One student representative
  • One BA Advisor
  • One Educational Advisor
  • One representative from the Office of the Registrar
  • One Arts representative from a Senate curriculum committee

Faculty representatives serve three-year terms.

Current Chair: Dr. Parthiphan Krishnan (Geography and the Environment) –


ASCC meets once per month, with the exception of July and August.

A Year in Review


Total: 107

New: 10

Revised: 89

Discontinued: 7

Reactivated: 1



New: 0

Revised: 11