Skip to main content
KPU Surrey Campus

You are here

Prior Learning Assessment

KPU recognizes that students may attain significant learning at a post-secondary level through work, training, and informal experiences outside the formal post-secondary system. Through Prior Learning Assessment (PLA), KPU will grant credit toward a certificate, diploma, or degree for this learning if it fulfills the requirements of the program in which the student is enrolled.

Although PLA credit may be granted, a further decision on the applicability of the credits toward program admission or graduation requirements may be required. Students are advised to first review the requirements of their program in the academic calendar, and meet with an educational advisor if questions arise as to how PLA may satisfy program requirements for graduation.

Any student planning to transfer to a university or other post-secondary institution should be aware that PLA credit granted by KPU is not binding at another post-secondary institution.

How to Request PLA

  1. Determine the body of work for which you wish to request PLA credit, and the course it equates to as part of your program requirements. Course descriptions are available in the University Calendar: kpu.ca/courses
  2. Contact the designated PLA Program Advisor for the course in which you are seeking PLA credit, as per the chart below. The PLA Program Advisor will conduct a pre-assessment to determine if your request will be evaluated by a PLA Assessor. If approved, the PLA Program Advisor will complete  and sign an Application for Prior Learning Credit form.
  3. Bring your signed Application for Prior Learning Credit form to Student Enrolment Services on Langley, Surrey or Richmond campuses to pay your PLA assessment fee.
  4. Your request will be forwarded to your designated PLA Assessor who will contact you to select an appropriate assessment method, date and deadline. Acceptable assessment methods for each course are indicated on the official course outline. Descriptions of assessment methods are provided below.
  5. Your PLA Assessor will submit the results of your assessment to the Registrar’s Office, and your final grade will be recorded on your academic record and will appear on your academic transcript.

PLA Program Advisors Contact Information:

Faculty of ACA

PLA Program Advisor

Email

ACP Mathematics

Tanya Boboricken

Tanya.Boboricken@kpu.ca

ACP English

Sherry Schoenberger

Sherry.Shoenberger@kpu.ca

ACP English

Mark Diotte

Mark.Diotte@kpu.ca

ELST

Martyn Williams

Lynette Manton

Martyn.Williams@kpu.ca

Lynette.Manton@kpu.ca

Faculty of Arts

PLA Program Advisor

Email

Anthropology

Sabine Stratton

Sabine.Stratton@kpu.ca

Asian Studies

Robert Menzies 

Robert.Menzies@kpu.ca 

Creative Writing

Nicola Harwood

Nicola.Harwood@kpu.ca

Criminology

Shereen Hassan

shereen.hassan@kpu.ca

Education Assistant

Allan Williams  Allan.Williams@kpu.ca

Educational Studies

Ann Marie McLellan Ann-Marie.McLellan@kpu.ca

English

Robert Dearle 

Robert.Dearle@kpu.ca

Fine Arts

Ying-Yueh Chuang

Ying-Yueh.Chuang@kpu.ca

Geography

Parthi Krishnan

Parthiphan.Krishnan@kpu.ca

History

Tom Thorner 

Tom.Thorner@kpu.ca

Journalism/Communications

Mark Hamilton 

Mark.Hamilton@kpu.ca

Language and Cultures 

Olivier Clarinval 

Olivier.Clarinval@kpu.ca

Music

Zdenek Skoumal

zdenek.skoumal@kpu.ca

Philosophy/ Humanities

Brian Garrett

Brian.Garrett@kpu.ca

Policy Studies

Ellen Pond

Ellen.Pond@kpu.ca

Political Science

Greg Millard 

Greg.Millard@kpu.ca

Psychology

Susana Phillips

Susana.Phillips@kpu.ca

Sociology

Annette Reynolds

Annette.reynolds@kpu.ca

School of Business

PLA Program Advisor

Email

Accounting

 

~

Bachelor of Technology 

Chris Leung

Andy Law

chris.leung@kpu.ca 

andy.law@kpu.ca 

Computer Information Systems

Marcelo Machado

marcelo.machado@kpu.ca

Business & Quantitative Methods

Bernie Neuhold

bernie.neuhold@kpu.ca

Business Management

Duane Radcliffe

duane.radcliffe@kpu.ca

Entrepreneurial Leadership

Chamkaur Cheema

chamkaur.cheema@kpu.ca

Economics

Don Reddick

donald.reddick@kpu.ca

Human Resource Management

Doug Fletcher

HRMTchair@kpu.ca

Legal Administrative Studies

Colleen Formisano

colleen.formisano@kpu.ca

Marketing

Richard Simon

richard.simon@kpu.ca

Applied Communications

Deirdre Maultsaid

deirdre.maultsaid@kpu.ca

Public Relations

Sabrina Del Monte

sabrina.delmonte@kpu.ca

Faculty of Health

PLA Program Advisor

Email

Psychiatric Nursing

Tess Kroeker

tess.kroeker@kpu.ca

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Donna Malyon

donna.malyon@kpu.ca

Bachelor of Science in Nursing Advanced Entry

Leeann Waddington

leeann.waddington@kpu.ca

Graduate Nurse Intl Educated Re-Entry

Sherilyn Sweeney

sherilyn.sweeney@kpu.ca

Health Care Assistant 

Sharon Leitch

sharon.leitch@kpu.ca

Health Foundation 

Gurp Chahal

gurpinder.chahal@kpu.ca

´╗┐´╗┐Health Unit Coordinator 

Radhika Kumar

radhika.kumar@kpu.ca

Traditional Chinese Medicine - Acupuncture  Dr. John Yang john.yang@kpu.ca

Wilson School of Design

PLA Program Advisor

Email

Fashion & Technology

Jackie Bruce

jackie.bruce@kpu.ca

Fashion Marketing

Jimmy Choi

jimmy.choi@kpu.ca

Graphic Design for Marketing

Carley Hodgkinson

carley.hodgkinson@kpu.ca

Foundations in Design

Natasha Campbell

natasha.campbell@kpu.ca

Interior Design

Brenda Snaith

Lucie Gagne

brenda.snaith@kpu.ca 

lucie.gagne@kpu.ca

Product Design

Lindsay Norris

lindsay.norris@kpu.ca

Technical Apparel Design

Emily Heaps

emily.heaps@kpu.ca

Faculty of Science & Horticulture

PLA Program Advisor

Email

Biology

Sherry Wilson

sherry.wilson@kpu.ca

Health Science

Jane Hobson

jane.hobson@kpu.ca

Chemistry

Xin Liu

xin.liu@kpu.ca

Computer Aided Design & Drafting (CADD)

Christina Heinrick

christina.heinrick@kpu.ca

Environmental Protection Tech

Paul Richard

paul.richard@kpu.ca

Mathematics

Judy Bicep

judy.bicep@kpu.ca

Physics, Astronomy, Applied Science

Takashi Sato

takashi.sato@kpu.ca

Brewing and Brewery Operations

Alek Egi

alek.egi@kpu.ca

Horticulture

Betty Cunnin

Gary Jones

betty.cunnin@kpu.ca

gary.jones@kpu.ca

Agriculture

Kent Mullinix

kent.mullinix@kpu.ca

Sustainable Agriculture

Rebecca Harbut

rebecca.harbut@kpu.ca

Faculty of Trades & Technology

PLA Program Advisor

Email

Appliance Servicing

David Fengstad

david.fengstad@kpu.ca

Farrier

Gerard Laverty

gerard.laverty@kpu.ca

Millwright

Doug Wiebe

doug.wiebe@kpu.ca

Methods of Prior Learning Assessment

The following methods of assessment may be used, independently or in combination, to determine if the PLA applicant has met the required standards:

Challenge Exam

A test or exam (written or oral) that is designed to validate the knowledge of the candidate as it relates to course requirements. A challenge exam may be the same test or exam given to students who formally attend the course. It is limited to questions that are directly related to the learning objectives/outcomes of the course, not to information that would be available only by regular attendance in the classroom.

Standardized Test

Similar to a Challenge Exam. However, someone from the department other than the assessor usually develops this test or exam. It is focused around widely recognized standards (as set by a department or professional/sectoral organization) that are equivalent to the course objectives.

Products/Portfolio

Documents or objects that have been produced by the candidate and demonstrate tangible proof of accomplishment. These may include, but are not limited to, reports, computer printouts, videos, illustrations, prototype models, or an artist’s portfolio. Students may be asked to demonstrate abilities or answer questions about the portfolio by the assessor.

Demonstration

Simulation or actual presentation of candidate’s abilities, which may be live, recorded, or videotaped. The demonstration may include, but is not limited to, such activities as presenting a speech, role-playing a situation, creating a document on computer, giving a musical performance, performing a lab experiment, interviewing a client, operating equipment, or completing a procedure.

Interview

Oral questioning. The PLA interview is focused around course objectives and may include techniques such as open-ended questions, case studies, and prepared analyses. The interview is used to clarify areas of learning, and may be used in parallel with other methods, as a sole method of assessment, and/or as a means to ensure authenticity of products.

Worksite Assessment

Similar to a demonstration. The candidate is observed performing tasks as a part of normal work routine, or as specifically assigned, in the place of work. Assessment is normally done by faculty assigned to a candidate, but may also be made by a work supervisor or field expert. If performed by an external assessor, may be followed up by a self-assessment and/or interview with a faculty assessor.

Self-assessment

Assessment performed by the candidate, usually with the aid of an established form or questionnaire. Normally requires a parallel assessment by a field expert and/or faculty assessor.

External Evaluation

Assessment provided by an expert other than KPU faculty. Assessment method may include, but is not limited to, performance evaluation, letter of validation, or worksite assessment, and may require follow-up by faculty.

Policy AC6 is the university’s policy on Credit for Previous Learning and can be viewed at the library or online at www.kpu.ca/policies for further details.

For updates to this web page, please contact Pal Trehan at Palek.Trehan@kpu.ca