Skip to main content

COVID-19 coronavirus information and KPU's response [Read more]

KPU Surrey Campus

You are here

What can a Learning Strategist do for you?

learning_strategist

Information for Students

Learning Strategists are KPU faculty member who provide individualized support to help you learn how to learn effectively and study in a way that best suits your strengths.  Learning Strategists can help you with goal setting, time management, understanding your assignments, reading effectively, studying for tests and exams, and developing writing strategies.

To book an appointment, please click hereYou may also schedule an appointment by phone or by email

Information for Faculty and Staff

What can a Learning Strategist do for you? Learning Strategists can provide support by:

  • Working with other faculty in their disciplines to create customized seminars or workshops that address identified learner needs.  Workshops are designed to complement the instruction students receive.
  • Working collaboratively with instructors to find ways to integrate skill development.  We identify key strategies that enhance the learning outcomes associated with various courses and consult with instructors regarding student issues as they arise.
  • Working to offer peer assisted study sessions (PASS) programs for courses identified as "high-risk" by interested instructors.
  • Working in partnership with faculty to provide input into foundation courses or programs to ensure students are provided with a balance of content and process skills that they will need to develop as lifelong learners.

Learning Strategist - Support Graphic

Please contact us for more information. It would be our pleasure to discuss ways to support your students in developing their academic skills.

Laura Aguilera (Richmond)
laura.aguilera@kpu.ca

Marti Alger  (Surrey, Cloverdale)
marti.alger@kpu.ca

Christina Page  (Surrey)
christina.page@kpu.ca

Kim Tomiak  (Langley, Surrey)​
kim.tomiak@kpu.ca

Alice Macpherson  (Surrey, Richmond)​
alice.macpherson@kpu.ca

Megan Robertson (Richmond)​
megan.robertson1@kpu.ca

Lee Beavington (Surrey)​
lee.beavington@kpu.ca

Peter Walsh (Richmond)​
peter.walsh@kpu.ca