KPU Board of Governors welcomes two new members

Wed, Mar 29, 2017

By KPU Communications

Surrey, B.C.—The Kwantlen Polytechnic University (KPU) Board of Governors welcomes two new members.

Gavin Dew and Sarbjeet Sarai bring a wealth of professional experience and passion for their communities to their roles.

Dew is the director of external relations for the Great Canadian Gaming Corporation as well as co-founder and director of growth for WMG Logistics, a logistics and distribution company supporting Canada’s legal marijuana sector. A former University of B.C. student government executive, Dew is active in the Vancouver business community, serving on committees with the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade and the Business Council of British Columbia. His educational background includes a Bachelor of Arts in English literature from UBC and a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Oxford University, where he researched social licence to operate, which is the idea that companies have an obligation to earn permission from communities.

Sarai is the executive director of the Major Appliance Recycling Roundtable, a stewardship agency responsible for the end-of-life recycling of major appliances in B.C. Prior to joining MARR, Sarai operated a communications and government relations firm serving a wide variety clients in the private, public, and not-for-profit sectors. Early in her career, she was a writer to former prime minister Jean Chretien. Later, she served as special assistant to the minister of natural resources and senior minister for B.C. Passionate about community causes, Sarai is a founding director of the CORSA Foundation, dedicated to helping South Asian youth with mentorship programs, and she has volunteered with the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, the Make a Wish Foundation of B.C., and currently is a member of Surrey Memorial Hospital’s Leadership Council. She holds a Bachelor of Arts from Simon Fraser University and a Master of Arts from Queen’s University.

The 15-member KPU Board of Governors, which is empowered by the University Act, is responsible for the management, administration, and control of property, revenue, business and affairs of the university. Members include KPU Chancellor Dr. George Melville, KPU president and vice-chancellor Dr. Alan Davis, as well as student, community, faculty and employee members.

Board chair Hanne Madsen was appointed to the board in 2014, and elected chair Jan. 1. She is a director of Westminster Savings Credit Union and chair of Fraser Health patient care quality review board. She is also chair of GroYourBiz, a peer-to-peer advisory board for women business owners.

In 2015, Madsen was awarded the Surrey Board of Trade Women in Business Award for Corporate/Leadership. She has a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) from Simon Fraser University (SFU) and a certificate of executive management from the Segal Graduate School of Business at SFU.

Board vice-chair Tanya Corbet is a member of the Tsawwassen First Nation (TFN) and was recently elected to her first term on the TFN’s executive council. She has worked for the TFN government for 17 years, playing a key role with the treaty department during the negotiation and implementation of B.C.’s first urban treaty. Corbet, who holds an associate certificate in public relations, is also a director of the Reach Child and Youth Development Society Foundation Board. She is proud of her community and believes in building a strong and sustainable future for the next generation.

For a full list of current members of the KPU board of governors, along with the agendas and minutes of meetings, bylaws and policies, and other information about governance at KPU, visit

For more KPU news: