Funding & Recognition

Funding & Leadership Opportunities

KPU supports pedagogical innovation and provides leadership opportunities through the following programs:

  • Teaching and Learning Innovation Fund (TLIF)

    TLIF Grant funding is available to regular KPU faculty as well as support staff with instructional abilities. The Teaching and Learning Innovation Fund supports innovations related to teaching and learning, as well as the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning at KPU.
    For more information including application deadlines please click below.

  • Open Educational Resources (OER) Grants

    Open Educational Resources (OER) Grants are available for KPU faculty/instructors. The program provides funding and staff support to KPU faculty members interested in creating, adapting, and adopting OERs, and other types of Open Pedagogy. Applications are reviewed three times a year: September 1, and January 15, May 1


Teaching & Scholarship Awards

KPU recognizes and celebrates outstanding teaching and scholarship in its diverse forms.

The Distinguished Teaching Award is intended to recognize remarkable teaching as demonstrated by a KPU educator. Administered by SSCT. Nomination Deadline is October 1 each year.

The Distinguished Scholarship Award recognizes and celebrates outstanding examples of scholarship.  Administered by SSCT. Nominate a current or former KPU employee by October 1 of each year. | Info

The Distinguished Service Awards honour and recognize exceptional, long-standing service to KPU and/or the educational community that it serves. Nominate a current or former employee in 1) staff or 2) faculty category. Administered by SSCT.

Emeritus/Emerita Designation - an honorary appointment recognizes distinguished performance of an employee, honours the employee’s standing of high regard in the eyes of peers and colleagues, and anticipates the continuation of the employee’s academic contributions to KPU past retirement. There are no fixed criteria for the selection of the designation, although generally nominees will have demonstrated exemplary and significant academic contributions to KPU or the appropriate faculty, school or department. Administered by SSCT.