Skip to main content

KPU is preparing for more on-campus activity in Fall 2021. For more on what’s happening for Summer and Fall 2021 [Read more]

KPU Surrey Campus

You are here

Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition

KPU recognizes that students attain significant learning at a post-secondary level from formal academic learning, as well as work, training, and other experiences outside the formal post-secondary education system. Through Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR), KPU will award credit for learning that is directly applicable to the student's declared program of study.  Should a student change programs, all or some of the PLAR credit previously awarded may no longer apply to the new area of study, but the student may be able to apply for additional PLAR credit that was not appropriate under the previous program of study.

Although PLAR credit may be granted, a further decision on the applicability of the credits toward program admission or graduation requirements may be required. Students are advised to first review the requirements of their program in the academic calendar, and meet with an Academic Advisor if questions arise as to how PLAR may satisfy program requirements for graduation.

Any student planning to transfer to a university or other post-secondary institution should be aware that PLAR credit granted by KPU is not binding at another post-secondary institution.

Policy AC6 Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is the university’s policy on Credit for Previous Learning and can be viewed online at www.kpu.ca/policies.

How to Request PLAR

  1. Determine the body of work for which you wish to request PLAR credit, and the comparable course it may equate to as part of your program requirements. Course descriptions are available in the University Calendar: kpu.ca/courses
  2. Contact the designated PLAR Department Consultant for the course in which you are seeking PLAR credit, as per the chart below. The PLAR Department Consultant will conduct a pre-assessment to determine if your request will be evaluated by a PLAR Assessor. If approved, the PLAR Department Consultant will complete and sign an Application for Prior Learning Credit form.
  3. Submit your signed Application for Prior Learning Credit form to Student Enrolment Services at studentinfo@kpu.ca and they will contact you with the amount and instructions on how to pay your PLAR assessment fee.
  4. Your request will be forwarded to your designated PLA Assessor who will contact you to select an appropriate assessment method, date and deadline. Descriptions of assessment methods are provided in the University Calendar.
  5. Your PLA Assessor will submit the results of your assessment to the Registrar’s Office, and your final grade will be recorded on your academic record and will appear on your academic transcript.

PLAR Department Consultants Contact Information:

Faculty of ACA

PLAR Department Consultant

Email

ACP Mathematics

Tanya Boboricken

Tanya.Boboricken@kpu.ca

ACP English

Sherry Schoenberger

Sherry.Shoenberger@kpu.ca

ACP English

Mark Diotte

Mark.Diotte@kpu.ca

ELST

Martyn Williams

Lynette Manton

Martyn.Williams@kpu.ca

Lynette.Manton@kpu.ca

Faculty of Arts

PLAR Department Consultant

Email

Anthropology

Larissa Petrillo

larissa.petrillo@kpu.ca 

Asian Studies

Robert Menzies 

robert.menzies@kpu.ca

Creative Writing

Aislinn Hunter

Billeh Nickerson

aislinn.hunter@kpu.ca

billeh.nickerson@kpu.ca

Criminology

Shereen Hassan

shereen.hassan@kpu.ca

Education Assistant

Allan Williams  allan.williams@kpu.ca

Educational Studies

Ann-Marie McLellan ann-marie.mclellan@kpu.ca

English

John Rupert

john.rupert@kpu.ca

Fine Arts

Ying-Yueh Chuang

ying-yueh.chuang@kpu.ca

Geography

Parthi Krishnan

parthiphan.krishnan@kpu.ca

History

Tom Thorner 

tom.thorner@kpu.ca

Journalism and

Communication Studies  

Chad Skelton

chad.skelton@kpu.ca

Language and Cultures 

Olivier Clarinval 

olivier.clarinval@kpu.ca

Music

Zdenek Skoumal

zdenek.skoumal@kpu.ca

Philosophy/ Humanities

Brian Garrett

brian.garrett@kpu.ca

Policy Studies

Ellen Pond

ellen.pond@kpu.ca

Political Science

Ross Pink

ross.pink@kpu.ca

Psychology

Susana Phillips

susana.phillips@kpu.ca

Sociology

Annette Reynolds

annette.reynolds@kpu.ca

School of Business

PLAR Department Consultant

Email

Accounting

Valerie Warren

valerie.warren@kpu.ca

Bachelor of Technology 

Chris Leung

Chinmaya Mahapatra

chris.leung@kpu.ca 

chinmaya.mahapatra@kpu.ca  

Computer Business Systems

Landon Kleis

landon.kleis@kpu.ca

Business & Quantitative Methods

Bernie Neuhold

bernie.neuhold@kpu.ca

Business Management

Lyndsay Passmore

lyndsay.passmore@kpu.ca

Entrepreneurial Leadership

Amanda Bickell

amanda.bickell@kpu.ca

Economics

Don Reddick

donald.reddick@kpu.ca

Human Resource Management

Judy Benevides

judy.benevides@kpu.ca

Legal Administrative Studies

Alia Somji

alia.somji@kpu.ca  

Marketing

Richard Simon

richard.simon@kpu.ca

Applied Communications

Deirdre Maultsaid

deirdre.maultsaid@kpu.ca

Public Relations

Andrew Frank

andrew.frank@kpu.ca

Faculty of Health

PLAR Department Consultant

Email

Psychiatric Nursing

Donna Malyon donna.malyon@kpu.ca

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Donna Malyon

donna.malyon@kpu.ca

Bachelor of Science in Nursing Advanced Entry

Donna Malyon donna.malyon@kpu.ca

Graduate Nurse Intl Educated Re-Entry

Herraj Sandhu

herraj.sandhu@kpu.ca

Health Care Assistant 

Nirmal Dhaliwal 

nirmal.dhaliwal1@kpu.ca

Health Foundations 

Joyce MacKenzie

joyce.mackenzie@kpu.ca

´╗┐´╗┐Health Unit Coordinator 

Radhika Kumar

radhika.kumar@kpu.ca

Traditional Chinese Medicine -

Acupuncture 

Dr. John Yang john.yang@kpu.ca

Wilson School of Design

PLAR Department Consultant

Email

Fashion & Technology

Heather Clark

heather.clark@kpu.ca

Fashion Marketing

Jimmy Choi

jimmy.choi@kpu.ca

Graphic Design for Marketing

Carley Hodgkinson

carley.hodgkinson@kpu.ca

Foundations in Design

Natasha Campbell

natasha.campbell@kpu.ca

Interior Design

Brenda Snaith

Lucie Gagne

brenda.snaith@kpu.ca 

lucie.gagne@kpu.ca

Product Design

Lindsay Norris

lindsay.norris@kpu.ca

Technical Apparel Design

Jessica Bayntun

jessica.bayntun@kpu.ca

Faculty of Science & Horticulture

PLAR Department Consultant

Email

Biology

Sherry Wilson

sherry.wilson@kpu.ca

Health Science

Jane Hobson

jane.hobson@kpu.ca

Chemistry

Xin Liu

xin.liu@kpu.ca

Computer Aided Design & Drafting (CADD)

Christina Heinrick

christina.heinrick@kpu.ca

Environmental Protection Tech

Paul Richard

paul.richard@kpu.ca

Mathematics

Judy Bicep

judy.bicep@kpu.ca

Physics, Astronomy, Applied Science

Takashi Sato

takashi.sato@kpu.ca

Brewing and Brewery Operations

Alek Egi

alek.egi@kpu.ca

Horticulture

Cameron Lait

Jamie Lamont

cameron.lait@kpu.ca

jaime.lamont@kpu.ca

Agriculture

Mike Bomford

mike.bomford@kpu.ca  

Sustainable Agriculture

Rebecca Harbut

rebecca.harbut@kpu.ca

Faculty of Trades & Technology

PLAR Department Consultant

Email

Appliance Servicing

David Fengstad

david.fengstad@kpu.ca

Farrier

Gerard Laverty

gerard.laverty@kpu.ca

Millwright

Brian Myette

brian.myette@kpu.ca
     

For updates to this web page, please contact registrar@kpu.ca