Skip to main content
KPU Surrey Campus

You are here

Prior Learning Assessment

KPU recognizes that students may attain significant learning at a post-secondary level through work, training, and informal experiences outside the formal post-secondary system. Through Prior Learning Assessment (PLA), KPU will grant credit toward a certificate, diploma, or degree for this learning if it fulfills the requirements of the program in which the student is enrolled.

Although PLA credit may be granted, a further decision on the applicability of the credits toward program admission or graduation requirements may be required. Students are advised to first review the requirements of their program in the academic calendar, and meet with an educational advisor if questions arise as to how PLA may satisfy program requirements for graduation.

Any student planning to transfer to a university or other post-secondary institution should be aware that PLA credit granted by KPU is not binding at another post-secondary institution.

How to Request PLA

  1. Determine the body of work for which you wish to request PLA credit, and the course it equates to as part of your program requirements. Course descriptions are available in the University Calendar: kpu.ca/courses
  2. Contact the designated Faculty Advisor for the course in which you are seeking PLA credit, as per the chart below. The Faculty Advisor will conduct a pre-assessment to determine if your request will be evaluated by a PLA Assessor. If approved, the Faculty Advisor will complete  and sign an Application for Prior Learning Credit form.
  3. Bring your signed Application for Prior Learning Credit form to Student Enrolment Services on Langley, Surrey or Richmond campuses to pay your PLA assessment fee.
  4. Your request will be forwarded to your designated PLA Assessor who will contact you to select an appropriate assessment method, date and deadline. Acceptable assessment methods for each course are indicated on the official course outline. Descriptions of assessment methods are provided below.
  5. Your PLA Assessor will submit the results of your assessment to the Registrar’s Office, and your final grade will be recorded on your academic record and will appear on your academic transcript.

KPU PLA Program Advisors Contact Information:

Please note that effective January 1, 2017 Advisors contact information will be listed as name and email address ONLY. ~ Thank you

Faculty of Academic & Career Advancement

Program Advisor

Email

 

 

 

ACP Mathematics

Tanya Boboricken

Tanya.Boboricken@kpu.ca

ACP English

Sherry Schoenberger

Sherry.Shoenberger@kpu.ca

ACP English

Mark Diotte

Mark.Diotte@kpu.ca

ELST

 

 

Martyn Williams

 

Lynette Manton

Martyn.Williams@kpu.ca

 

Lynette.Manton@kpu.ca

Faculty of Arts

Program Advisor

Email

Anthropology

Ken Stark

Ken.Stark@kpu.ca

Asian Studies

Colin Green

Colin.Green@kpu.ca

Creative Writing

Nicola Harwood

Nicola.Harwood@kpu.ca

Criminology

Shereen Hassan

shereen.hassan@kpu.ca

Education Assistant (EDAS)

(formerly Special Education Teaching Assistant (SETA)

 

Educational Studies

Sylvia Woodyard

 

Ann-Marie McLellan

Sylvia.Woodyard@kpu.ca

 

Ann-marie.mclellan@kpu.ca

English

John Rupert

john.rupert@kpu.ca

Fine Arts

Robert Gelineau

Robert.Gelineau@kpu.ca

Geography

John Rose

John.Rose@kpu.ca

History

Alex Popovich

Alex.Popovich@kpu.ca

Journalism

Beverley Sinclair

Beverley.Sinclair@kpu.ca

Modern Languages

Sumiko Nishizawa

Sumiko.Nishizawa@kpu.ca

Music

Zdenek Skoumal

zdenek.skoumal@kpu.ca

Philosophy/ Humanities

Bill Barthelemy

Bill.Barthelemy@kpu.ca

Policy Studies

Ellen Pond

Ellen.Pond@kpu.ca

Political Science

Shinder Purewal

Shinder.Purewal@kpu.ca

Psychology

Susana Phillips

Susana.Phillips@kpu.ca

Sociology

Annette Reynolds

Annette.reynolds@kpu.ca

Faculty of Business

Program Advisor

Email

 

 

 

Accounting

~

~

 

 

 

Bachelor of Technology / CSIT

Chris Leung

chris.leung@kpu.ca

     

Bachelor of Technology / CSIT

Andy Law

andy.law@kpu.ca

     

Computer Business Systems

Marcelo Machado

marcelo.machado@kpu.ca

     

Business & Quantitative Methods

Bernie Neuhold

bernie.neuhold@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Business Management

Duane Radcliffe

duane.radcliffe@kpu.ca

 

 

 

BBA Entrepreneurial Leadership

Chamkaur Cheema

chamkaur.cheema@kpu.ca

     

Economics

Don Reddick

donald.reddick@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Human Resource Management

Doug Fletcher

HRMTchair@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Legal Administrative Studies

Colleen Formisano

colleen.formisano@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Marketing

Richard Simon

richard.simon@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Applied Communications

Deirdre Maultsaid

deirdre.maultsaid@kpu.ca

     

Public Relations

Sabrina Del Monte

sabrina.delmonte@kpu.ca

     

Faculty of Health

Program Advisor

Email

 

 

 

Bachelor of Psychiatric Nursing

Tess Kroeker

Tess.Kroeker@kpu.ca

   

 

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Donna Malyon

Donna.Malyon@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Bachelor of Science in Nursing Advanced Entry

Leeann Waddington

Leeann.Waddington@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Graduate Nurse Intl Educated Re-Entry

Sherilyn Sweeney

Sherilyn.Sweeney@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Health Care Assistant Program

Sharon Leitch

Sharon.Leitch@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Health Foundation Program

Gurp Chahal

Gurpinder.Chahal@kpu.ca

 

 

 

´╗┐´╗┐Health Unit Coordinator (HUC)

Radhika Kumar

Radhika.kumar@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) Acupuncture Program Dr. John Yang John.Yang@kpu.ca      

Wilson School of Design

Program Advisor

Email

 

 

 

Fashion & Technology

Lindsay Norris

lindsay.norris@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Fashion Marketing

Jimmy Choi

jimmy.choi@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Graphic Design for Marketing

Marge Damon

Marge.Damon@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Foundations in Design

Carla Wolf

Carla.Wolf@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Interior Design

Brenda Snaith

Brenda.Snaith@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Interior Design

Lucie Gagne

Lucie.Gagne@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Product Design

Iryna Karaush

Iryna.Karaush@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Technical Apparel Design

Evelyn May

Evelyn.May@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Faculty of Science & Horticulture

Program Advisor

Email

 

 

 

Biology

Carson Keever

Carson.Keever@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Health Science

Jane Hobson

Jane.Hobson@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Chemistry

Xin Liu

Xin.Liu@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Computer Aided Design & Drafting (CADD)

Christina Heinrick

Christina.Heinrick@kpu.ca

   

 

Environmental Protection Tech

Paul Richard

Paul.Richard@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Mathematics

Judy Bicep

Judy.Bicep@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Physics, Astronomy, Applied Science

Takashi Sato

Takashi.Sato@kpu.ca

 

 

 

HOPS (Brewing and Brewery Operations)

Alek Egi

Alek.Egi@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Horticulture

Betty Cunnin

Betty.Cunnin@kpu.ca

   

 

Horticulture

Gary Jones

Gary.Jones@kpu.ca

   

 

Agriculture

Kent Mullinix

Kent.Mullinix@kpu.ca

 

 

 

 

Sustainable Agriculture

Rebecca Harbut

Rebecca.Harbut@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Faculty of Trades & Technology

Program Advisor

Email

 

 

 

Appliance Servicing

David Fengstad

David.Fengstad@kpu.ca

   

 

Farrier

Gerard Laverty

Gerard.Laverty@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Millwright

Doug Wiebe

Doug.Wiebe@kpu.ca

 

 

 

Public Safety Communication

Tally Wade

Tally.Wade@kpu.ca

 

 

 

All Others

 

 

 

 

 

Methods of Prior Learning Assessment

The following methods of assessment may be used, independently or in combination, to determine if the PLA applicant has met the required standards:

Challenge Exam

A test or exam (written or oral) that is designed to validate the knowledge of the candidate as it relates to course requirements. A challenge exam may be the same test or exam given to students who formally attend the course. It is limited to questions that are directly related to the learning objectives/outcomes of the course, not to information that would be available only by regular attendance in the classroom.

Standardized Test

Similar to a Challenge Exam. However, someone from the department other than the assessor usually develops this test or exam. It is focused around widely recognized standards (as set by a department or professional/sectoral organization) that are equivalent to the course objectives.

Products/Portfolio

Documents or objects that have been produced by the candidate and demonstrate tangible proof of accomplishment. These may include, but are not limited to, reports, computer printouts, videos, illustrations, prototype models, or an artist’s portfolio. Students may be asked to demonstrate abilities or answer questions about the portfolio by the assessor.

Demonstration

Simulation or actual presentation of candidate’s abilities, which may be live, recorded, or videotaped. The demonstration may include, but is not limited to, such activities as presenting a speech, role-playing a situation, creating a document on computer, giving a musical performance, performing a lab experiment, interviewing a client, operating equipment, or completing a procedure.

Interview

Oral questioning. The PLA interview is focused around course objectives and may include techniques such as open-ended questions, case studies, and prepared analyses. The interview is used to clarify areas of learning, and may be used in parallel with other methods, as a sole method of assessment, and/or as a means to ensure authenticity of products.

Worksite Assessment

Similar to a demonstration. The candidate is observed performing tasks as a part of normal work routine, or as specifically assigned, in the place of work. Assessment is normally done by faculty assigned to a candidate, but may also be made by a work supervisor or field expert. If performed by an external assessor, may be followed up by a self-assessment and/or interview with a faculty assessor.

Self-assessment

Assessment performed by the candidate, usually with the aid of an established form or questionnaire. Normally requires a parallel assessment by a field expert and/or faculty assessor.

External Evaluation

Assessment provided by an expert other than KPU faculty. Assessment method may include, but is not limited to, performance evaluation, letter of validation, or worksite assessment, and may require follow-up by faculty.

Policy AC6 is the university’s policy on Credit for Previous Learning and can be viewed at the library or online at www.kpu.ca/policies for further details.

For updates to this web page, please contact Pal Trehan at palek.trehan@kpu.ca