Criminology Advisory Committee

The Criminology Advisory Committee was established in 1985 and meets twice a year. Kwantlen recognizes that its effectiveness in the community depends on the support and advice of a strong network of advisory committees.

Inspector Ken Doern, Vancouver Police Department, served as the Chair of the Criminology Advisory Committee for 17 years. Criminology students should take special note of the Ken Doern Memorial Scholarship established jointly by Securiguard, the Criminology Advisory Committee, and Kwantlen.

In April 2008, Chief Officer Bob Kind stepped down as Chair of the committee after eight years as member and Chair. Dan Krefting served as the next Chair for five years, and Scott MacMillan, Manager of the Lower Mainland Integrated Protection Services, is the current Chair of the Criminology Advisory Committee. Special thanks to all our Criminology Advisory Committee members who provide valued information and feedback on the status of our programs. Some of our committee members are listed.

Criminology Links

Aboriginal Communities:



Crime Prevention/Victimology:

Federal Justice Departments:

Kwantlen Library Resources:

National Security:


Police Links:

Policy and Law Reform:


Back to Department Home Page