Senate Standing Committee on University Budget


The Budget Committee of Senate serves two important roles.  Its responsibilities include:

  • Those related to its role as an advisory body to Senate on matters within the jurisdiction of Senate , and
  • Those related to its role as an advisory role to the President and vice-presidents on budgetary policy, processes, and allocations.


  1. Advise Senate and its committees on the budgetary implications of matters within the jurisdiction of Senate and its committees, including proposals for new educational, research or other programs or initiatives, as required by Senate and its committees.
  2. On behalf of Senate, and in consultation with the Senate Standing Committee on Academic Planning and Priorities, advise the President and Vice-Presidents on the review and development of academic budgetary priorities, major capital plans, and the allocation of funds.
  3. At the request of the President, Board of Governors and Senate, provide advice on matters related to the University’s property, building, and structures.
  4. Assist the President and Vice-Presidents in the development of budgetary policies, guidelines, processes, and models.
  5. Assist the President and Vice-Presidents with the development of consultation and communication strategies related to budgetary matters.
  6. Present the annual University budget to Senate.
  7. Establish such subcommittees as needed to fulfill the Committee’s responsibilities.
  8. Other duties as assigned by Senate

Membership Composition

Voting Members

  • Chancellor
  • President
  • Two student senators or student representatives
  • Faculty senator or representative from each Faculty
  • Support staff senator or representative
  • Two deans or designates
  • Librarian
  • Representative, Information Technology

Non-voting Members

  • Vice-Chair of Senate
  • Provost and Vice-President, Academic or designate
  • Vice-President, Administration or designate
  • Chief Finance Officer or designate
  • Chair of Senate Standing Committee on Academic Planning and Priorities

2023–2024 Membership

Kwuntiltunaat (Kim Baird)ChancellorEx officio
Alan Davis, ChairPresidentEx officio
Stephanie HowesDeanAugust 31, 2025
Shelley BoydDeanAugust 31, 2027
Jashanpreet SinghStudent SenatorAugust 31, 2025
 Student Senator 
Travis HigoSupport StaffAugust 31, 2025
Caroline DanielsLibrarianAugust 31, 2026
Reza KhakbaznejadRepresentative, Information TechnologyAugust 31, 2026
 Faculty of Academic and Career Preparation 
 Faculty of Arts 
Seanna TakacsFaculty of Educational Support and DevelopmentAugust 31, 2025
 Faculty of Health 
Fergal CallaghanFaculty of ScienceAugust 31, 2025
Mike MannFaculty of Trades and TechnologyAugust 31, 2026
 Melville School of Business 
Carley Hodgkinson, ChairWilson School of DesignAugust 31, 2026
Catherine SchwichtenbergVice-Chair of SenateEx officio
Diane PurveyProvost and Vice-President, AcademicEx officio
Peter SmailesVice-President, AdministrationEx officio
Chervahun EmilienChief Finance OfficerEx officio
Catherine SchwichtenbergChair, Senate Standing Committee on Academic Planning and PrioritiesEx officio

2024–2025 Meeting Schedule

Location: MS Teams Online except for September, which will be held in-person.

Time: 10 a.m. to noon.

Friday, August 23, 2024Friday, September 6, 2024September 6, 2024September 6, 2024
Friday, September 20, 2024Friday, October 4, 2024October 4, 2024October 4, 2024
Friday, October 18, 2024Friday, November 1, 2024November 1, 2024November 1, 2024
Friday, November 15, 2024Friday, November 29, 2024November 29, 2024November 29, 2024
Wednesday, December 18, 2024Friday, January 3, 2025January 3, 2025January 3, 2025
Friday, January 17, 2025Friday, January 31, 2025January 31, 2025January 31, 2025
Friday, February 21, 2025Friday, March 7, 2025March 7, 2025March 7, 2025
Friday, March 21, 2025Friday, April 4, 2025April 4, 2025April 4, 2025
Friday, April 25, 2025Friday, May 9, 2025May 9, 2025May 9, 2025

ARChived Joint SSCAPP/UB Agendas and Minutes Archived SSCUB Membership, Agendas and Minutes

Administrative Support: Senate Office