Dean of Arts Service Award Nomination


The Dean of Arts Service Award is presented annually to recognize outstanding service by faculty members in the Faculty of Arts. All faculty who teach primarily or exclusively in the Faculty of Arts are eligible, with the exception of any faculty member who has won the award within the past five years.


Faculty are expected to demonstrate contribution to the community (external, internal). Service includes contributions to Faculty and University committees and engagement and leadership in activities that support good governance of the Faculty or the University. Service may include engaging and leading in community based activities that foster and promote the University’s reputation externally. Candidates for the Dean of Arts Service Award will have demonstrated outstanding contributions in any or all of the following areas:

  • Educational and/or governance activities or committees at the departmental, program, and/or institutional level
  • Department and University affairs
  • Fostering student life, teaching excellence, and effective education at KPU through service
  • Organizations (including learned and professional associations) external to the University

Congratulations to Previous Dean of Arts Service Award Recipients:

2021: Mike Larsen (Criminology) 

2022: Tracey Kinney (History)

2022: Ranjini Mendis (English)

2023: Gordon Cobb (Music)


Candidates may be nominated by any faculty member or administrator in the Faculty of Arts.

Nomination packages should include a letter from the nominator of 750 words or less, and up to three letters of support of 500 words or less. Letters of support are the responsibility of the nominee, and may come from faculty, administrators, students, or community members. They should be sent to

Nominations open on May 17, 2024 and close on June 21, 2024.

Submit Nomination Below: